Goal setting: the plan that will make you run for 20 minutes

Today is all about goal-setting. This is a post you shouldn’t miss, you know why? Because not doing so is one of the most common causes for dropping exercise.

Goal-setting implies two things:

1. Setting goals

2. Building an exercise program that will make you achieve those goals.

3. Setting a time frame to complete that goal.

Goals are great. They help you staying motivated by giving you that sense of achievement when you complete one; they also help you plan how you are going to do them, etc. 

One of my biggest mistakes was not doing so for many years.  And I strongly believe that was the reason for me not seeing major improvements on my fitness levels no matter how hard I worked. Having no direction means poor results.

However, I changed that. I’ve run 20 minutes straight many times in my life. But I’ve never ever ran 20 minutes with so much ease. It feels good. It seems easy. I enjoy it much more. Here’s the plan that has put me in the best cardiovascular shape I’ve ever been and that I’m on the verge of completing:

Goal: Run 20 min straight at 8 km/h (minimum) by the end of summer vacation.

Plan (from Bob Glover’s The Runner’s Handbook) – Although I started on week five, I’ll share the whole thing:

Week            Run-Walk Ratio (minutes)                                                        Total run time

1                      Run 1, walk 2. Complete sequence 7 times.                                    7

2                      Run 2, walk 2. Complete sequence 5 times.                                   10

3                      Run 3, walk 2. Complete sequence 4 times.                                   12

4                      Run 5, walk 2. Complete sequence 3 times.                                   15

5                      Run 6, walk 1 and 1/2. Complete sequence 3 times.                  18 (Done)

6                      Run 8, walk 1 and 1/2. Complete sequence 2 times.                  16  (Done)

7                      Run 10, walk 1 and 1/2. Complete sequence 2 times.               20 (Done)

8                      Run 12, walk 1, run 8.                                                                              20  (Done)

9                       Run 15, walk 1, run 5.                                                                             20  (Doing)

10                     Run 20 min nonstop.                                                                             20

Notice I did 3 things:

1. Set the goal (running 20 min)

2. Chose my exercise program (the one I’ve just shared)

3. Set a time frame (Until the end of summer vacation)

4. Kept my progress (by using a training diary)

As you can see, this program is pretty conservative. Don’t.rush.things. Do it one step at the time. The outcome will be greater if you go slowly. Just think of this: how long did it take you to get out of shape? Months? Years? 

So don’t be reluctant to take your time and make things right. Furthermore, by taking your time you drastically reduce your risk of injury.

Remember to make goal-setting a habit! It will keep you much more motivated and focused.

Leave a comment